Error message

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in eval() (line 2 of /var/www/vhosts/ : eval()'d code).

Book Prize


The New-York Historical Society American History Book Prize

The 11th Annual Competition

Purpose: To encourage the general public to read works on American history.

Prize: An engraved medal, patterned after a medal in the New-York Historical Society’s collection, $50,000 cash prize to the author and the title American Historian Laureate. The award will be presented in April 2016 at the Chairman’s Council Weekend with History, an annual gathering of New-York Historical’s most committed supporters.

Eligibility: Awarded for a non-fiction book on American history or biography copyrighted in 2015 that is distinguished by its scholarship, its literary style and its appeal to a general as well as an academic audience. The winner of the 2015 New-York Historical Society American History Book Prize was Jill Lepore for The Secret History of Wonder Woman. Previous winners include Andrew Jackson O'Shaughnessy (The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution and the Fate of the Empire), John Lewis Gaddis (George F.Kennan: An American Life), Doris Kearns Goodwin (Team of Rivals), David Nasaw (Andrew Carnegie), Daniel Walker Howe (What God Hath Wrought), Drew Gilpin Faust (Republic of Suffering), Gordon Wood (Empire of Liberty), Ron Chernow (George Washington), and Robert Caro’s The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson.

Method of Submission: There is no fee for participation. Publishers may submit as many titles as they wish, but must send six copies of each submission to:

Michael Ryan
Vice President and Director of the Patricia D. Klingenstein Library
The New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024

Submissions must be received by November 1, 2015

For more information, please call or e-mail:

Michael Ryan, The New-York Historical Society, (212)485-9219,

The New-York Historical Society Children's History Book Prize

The 3rd Annual Competition

Through the Children’s History Book Prize, the New-York Historical Society looks to honor the best children’s historical literature and encourage authors to continue to create engaging and challenging narratives that provide a window into the past for middle readers and their families. The award to the author is $10,000. The jury is comprised of librarians, educators, historians, and families with middle grade readers.

To submit books for consideration for the 2015 Children’s History Book Prize, please send six reader copies to:

Alice Stevenson
Director, DiMenna Children’s History Museum
The New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024

Only books published in 2015 are eligible. Submissions must be received no later than October 15, 2015. Click here for more information. 

Creative: Tronvig Group