Error message

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in eval() (line 2 of /var/www/vhosts/ : eval()'d code).

Institute for Constitutional History

Staff and Advisors


Maeva Marcus, Director

Maeva Marcus is a leading scholar in the field of constitutional studies. She received a Ph.D. in History with distinction from Columbia University. Her dissertation, Truman and the Steel Seizure Case, was published by Columbia University Press (1977) and remains in print from Duke University Press. As editor of The Documentary History of the Supreme Court of the United States, 17891800, Dr. Marcus published eight volumes along with many related articles on legal history. She is a Research Professor of Law at George Washington University Law School. From 1983 to 1987, she was Visiting Professor of Law at the Georgetown University Law Center. From 2007–2009, she was president of the American Society for Legal History.


Robert J. Cottrol, Faculty Liaison

Robert J. Cottrol is Professor of Law, of History, and of Sociology, and Harold Paul Green Research Professor of Law at the George Washington University. He received his B.A. and Ph.D. from Yale University and his J.D. from Georgetown University Law Center. He is the author of The Afro-Yankees: Providence’s Black Community in the Antebellum Era, editor of Gun Control and the Constitution: Sources and Explorations on the Second Amendment, and co-author of Brown v. Board of Education: Caste, Culture and the Constitution (winner of the 2003 Langum Project for Historical Literature Prize). Professor Cottrol's articles on constitutional topics have appeared in many leading journals.


Arthur E. Wilmarth, Jr., Faculty Liaison

Arthur E. Wilmarth, Jr. is Professor of Law at the George Washington University Law School. He received his B.A. degree in History from Yale University and his J.D. degree from Harvard University.  Most of Professor Wilmarth’s published works deal with historical, legal and economic issues related to the regulation of financial institutions. However, he has also published two major law review articles in the George Washington Law Review and the American Criminal Law Review addressing constitutional questions that arose during the drafting and ratification of the Constitution and the early national period.



Sheldon S. Cohen
Farr, Miller & Washington LLP

Richard Ekman

Council of Independent Colleges

David C. Frederick
Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel PLLC

J. Roderick Heller III
Carnton Capital Associates

Stanley N. Katz
Princeton University

Gene C. Schaerr
Winston & Strawn LLP

Benno C. Schmidt
New York Historical Society

Ira S. Shapiro
Greenberg Traurig LLP

Seth Waxman



Floyd Abrams
Yale University

Akhil Reed Amar
Yale University

David Armitage
Harvard University

Richard Baker
U.S. Senate Historian, Emeritus

Thomas Bender
New York University

Barbara Black
Columbia University

David Blight
Yale University

Hon. José A. Cabranes
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

Gerhard Casper
Stanford University

Hon. Avern Cohn
U.S. District Judge, Eastern District of Michigan

Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States

Joel Grossman
Johns Hopkins University

Hendrik Hartog
Princeton University

Elena Kagan
Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States

Laura Kalman
University of California at Santa Barbara

Stanley Katz
Princeton University

Nicholas Lemann
Columbia University

Hon. Michael McConnell
Stanford Law School

Charles W. McCurdy
University of Virginia

Barbara Oberg
Princeton University

James Oakes
CUNY Graduate Center

Richard Pious
Barnard College

Edward A. Purcell, Jr.
New York Law School

Jack Rakove
Stanford University

Antonin Scalia
Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States

Benno C. Schmidt
New York Historical Society

William Wiecek
Syracuse University

John Fabian Witt
Columbia University

Creative: Tronvig Group